Finish: Rio de Janerio
Mark: Ilha da Trinadade
Number of Entries: 17
Race Distance: 3600nm
Sponsor: Heineken

Handicap Results:

Winner: City of Cape Town
Skipper/Owner: Gerry Hegie
Time: 17d0012m
Second Place: Ciao Bela
Skipper/Owner: Michael Robinson
Time: 20d10h12m
Third Place: Xtra-Link
Skipper/Owner: Dale Kushner
Time: 19d20h35m

Line Honours Results:

Winner: Prodigy
Skipper/Owner: Chris Frost
Time: 15d23h57m
Second Place: After You
Skipper/Owner: Gerry Hegie
Time: 17d00h12m
Third Place: Grand Filou II
Skipper/Owner: J Eming/R Fearon
Time: 19d11h25m

After much persuasion and correspondence, the 2011 race was once returned to its roots to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and reverted to its name of the Cape to Rio Race with the support of the title sponsor Heineken.

Although only 17 boats gathered on the start line this time, the race kept up its exciting stature with the yacht Prodigy with Durban-based skipper Chris Frost guiding her to line honours’ victory and breaking the record, reaching the Brazilian city in 15 days 23 hours 57 minutes.

The overall winning trophy went to skipper 25-year-old Gerry Hegie on the yacht After You with a time of 17 days 12 minutes followed by The Robinson Family on Ciao Bella in 2nd Place and Xtra-Link YOLO in 3rd Skippered by Dale Kushner.

Spirit of Izivunguvugu, sailed by a young crew from the Simon’s Town school with the same name, which was in contention for a finish in the top six on handicap was unfortunately disqualified after their water maker broke had become unserviceable and they were down to 30 litres of fresh water for the remaining approximately nine days of the Atlantic crossing. After the distress was sent out by skipper Kader Williams, Race Director John Martin asked Xtra-Link Yolo to divert and assist. Cans of isotonic drink and 140 litres of water were transferred to the near-dehydrated sailors and Xtra-Link was to be granted a six-hour time consideration for their sportsmanship.

News & Galleries